Was this page helpful?

Installation procedure on a ROBOT station

    Table of contents

    After the UI package has run, a window opens to start extracting the required files:

    The next window displays the install settings:

    The settings displayed:

    o   Installation directory: in conformity with Windows recommendations (unavailable if "Force re-install" is unselected (update mode). Select "Force re-install" if you want to change the installation directory.

    o   Data directory where Robot or NTBR user data is stored. The default path for data storage conforms to Microsoft standards. It is advisable to keep this path, but you may change it if your company's rules for product installation require a different path definition.

    o   Installed Newtest products on this machine (if any)

    o   Installation/Upgrade options:

    Force re-install: uninstalls the existing Newtest Robot/NTBR and reinstalls the Robot/NTBR v8, keeping robot settings intact (section: Keep Detected Robot). If this option is unselected (for a version >= 8), only the necessary components are updated.

    Uninstall only: uninstalls the software (option mutually exclusive with "Force re-install" when the latter can be unselected). 

    Configure Robot on end: opens the window for configuring the connection to the robot at the end of setup. If "Uninstall Only" is selected, this option is not available. 

    o   The EULA must be accepted before you can click the "Install" button.

     

    Accept the Newtest software license agreement (check the box), and then click [Install] to proceed.

    Note: Installation of .NET 3.5 is required for machines running Windows 10 and Windows Server 2012 or 2016. This operation is performed by the install setup, but may also be done using the server's Manager tool. 

     

    A window lists the components to remove from the server (selected automatically). 

    Note: unselect "Remove NEWTEST Transaction builder data" to preserve the development environment (projects) if you are updating your NTBR machine.

     

    Check the list of components to delete, and then click [Re-Install] to proceed.

    A confirmation dialog appears. Click [OK] to proceed with reinstallation:

     

     Installation progress is shown in in the window below. Wait until installation is complete.  

    At the end of installation, the utility for configuring the session (Windows server) or autologon (Windows desktop) opens.

    o   For a Windows Server 2012/2016 OS, the following window appears in which you can configure the user sessions to associate with the Robot(s). Any prior configuration of the server is kept, but the robots are automatically assigned "Inactive" status. Activation of the robots must be done manually (by selecting the robot session, and then clicking the "Enable" button).

    The window below is empty for first installations. The "Add" button lets you configure a robot per RDS session/user (Microsoft RDP licenses are not provided).


    o   For a Windows 7/8/10 Workstation OS, the window below displays settings for configuring the user session. Just like for the server, the settings are kept and the robot is automatically assigned "Inactive" status. You must manually select the "Enable" checkbox, and then confirm by clicking [OK] to start the robot.

     

    Click the [Close] button in the upper right to quit the setup package.

     

    The robot will start up automatically within 4 minutes if no action it taken following the upgrade / install.

    See also

    Operating
    Settings
    Troubleshooting

     

    Was this page helpful?
    Tag page (Edit tags)
    • No tags
    Page statistics
    1822 view(s), 11 edit(s) and 430108 character(s)

    Comments

    You must login to post a comment.

    Attach file

    Attachments